The Five Pillars of Islam


These five pillars are the core of Islam and the basics prescribed to all Muslims to have an enriched and blessed life.

Shahadah (Declaration)

This means the expression of faith, done through the bearing witness to the oneness of god. This is done by reciting the “kalima” that translates to  “There is no God but God and Muhammad is the Messenger of God.” This proclamation expresses and individuals commitment to Islam through the acceptance of this basic fundamental principle.

Salah (Prayer)

Muslims need to pray five times a day to maintain a constant connection with God. Muslims pray towards The Kaaba (house of god) in Makkah, Saudia Arabia. The five prayers are offered at dawn (Fajr), noon (Zuhr), mid-afternoon (Asr), sunset (Maghreb), and night (Isha). During the holy month of Ramadhan, extra prayer are offered during the night called Taraweeh, as a form of extra supplication.

Zakat (Almsgiving)

Every financially capable muslim is prescribed to donate a fixed proportion of their personal wealth or income to to charity. This is the Islamic way of ensuring prosperity within communities and eliminating the financial gap between the classes. The Zakat is given at 2.5% of total income minus all expenses.

Sawm (Fasting)

Fasting is conducted during the holy month of Ramadhan. Fasting is a way of personal worship where Muslims aim to strengthen and deepen their relationship with their creator. Fasting is conducted through the restriction of food and water from sunrise till sunset. However, there are many more restrictive facets of fasting. A Muslim must also restrain from any sexual activity, aggression and foul language and general negative acts. Ramadhan is also the month of the descent of the Holy Qur’an which is why extra prayer during the night is rewarded greatly (taraweeh).  After Ramadhan, Muslims celebrate for three days by having a feast, Eid Al- Fitr where families unite and be merry.

Hajj (Pilgrimage)

For all financially and physically able Muslims, performing Hajj is obligatory. The Hajj is performed by going to the Holy landmarks associated with the creation of Islam in Makka and Medina. The Muslims follow the order of rituals as done by the Prophet Muhammad pbuh and the pilgrimage is marked a peak in their spiritual journey.



3 thoughts on “The Five Pillars of Islam

  1. Pingback: Are Women Suppressed in Islam? | Islam_Muslim_Ummah

  2. Pingback: What is Ramadan? | Islam_Muslim_Ummah

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s